YAWN–REVIEW: THE SHADOW QUEEN BY CJ REDWINE

The Shadow Queen

  • Series: Ravenspire
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Balzer + Bray (February 16, 2016)
  • Genre: Romance/Fantasy/YA
  • Rating: 1 Star
  • Cover Love: <3 <3

SYNOPSIS:

A dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic of his own—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman—and bring her Lorelai’s heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.

Review-logo_1*I received an advanced copy in exchange for a honest review. All opinions are my own. Thank you Edelwiess and Balzer + Bray.

 

I guess throwing in shapeshifting dragons is the new way to be different when retelling Snow White. Unfortunately, it did not help with how boring and uninspiring The Shadow Queen was. Which is a bummer because this was one of my most anticipated books of 2016. Plus that cover is absolutely gorgeous. But even that couldn’t help with how disappointed I was with this read.

Seriously, how many times do I have read about the long lost princess and her band of misfit friends as that try to save and rescue her kingdom for the evil Queen/King. Or how every few seconds she’s blushing at the sight of the brooding hero because he’s totally hot but I mustn’t flirt too much because he might think me a hussy and impure. Like gag me with a fucking spoon. I’m so sick and tired of this scenario.

My other problem with The Shadow Queen is that it felt like I was reading filler more than a well fleshed out novel. I mean this book is filled with so much overused descriptive details that I had to skim through it a majority of the time. I like details but not that much. Especially, if it doesn’t add to the story. Me knowing how many hand sewn beads on her dress and what color undergarments she is wearing is irrelevant to the plot.

Speaking of plot, there wasn’t none. The author just rehashed the same shit over and over again. It was like beating a dead….wait that might have been the other YA fantasy book that I’ve. And that my friend is the fucking problem. Most of these YA romance fantasy that are coming out pretty much have the same story and plot line that I get confuse. So basically I can copy and paste this review for the next five books that I’ve read.

So, if you’ve read a Snow White retelling, you’ve read them all. I’ll leave the decision to you whether or not you want to read The Shadow Queen. I will say, borrow instead of buy.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *