DIDN'T I READ THIS BOOK BEFORE?–REVIEW: THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT BY MELISSA GREY

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey, Reviews, creatyvebooks.com

Hardcover: 368 pages

Publisher: Delacorte Press (April 28, 2015)

Genre: Fiction/YA/Fantasy

Rating: 1.5 stars

Cover Love: <3 <3 <3 <3


REVIEW


 5 easy steps on becoming a bestseller YA Author:

  1. Read a few YA books.
  2. Come up with an original story and plotline.
  3. Shit on said plotline and just plagiarized from other books.
  4. Promo your “original” book on all social media platforms.
  5. Have a beautiful, eye popping, attention grabbing book cover.

Voila, you are a bestselling YA Author.

Melissa Grey must have followed that formula to the T because The Girl at Midnight is a mash up, copy and paste of every book I read before. Laini Taylor’s  Daughter of Smoke and Bones comes to mind. Not only is it well written and beautiful but the world building is breathtaking and the characters are striking and unforgettable. The Girl at Midnight not so much.

Seriously, take everything you read in DOSAB and transplant it to The Girl at Midnight. You have a girl name Echo who is pretty much adopted into the Avicen community. Strange creatures with feathers for hair or some shit. And then you have the Drakharin—dragon-like creatures.

Guess what?

What?

These two groups of creatures are at war with each other. And Echo is thrown in somehow and she’s is love with a Drakharin who happens to be the enemy of her adopted people. Blah blah, fucking blah.

This is not original. This is not magical. This is not unique.

This is plagiarisms.

Allegedly.

Bitch is not trying to get sued. Got too many student loans. Sallie is already on my ass.

Anyways, my opinion and I’m sticking with it.

Oh did I forget they are looking for some “Firebird”.  Creature of myth and lore that is supposed to put an end to this never-ending war. Also there’s a whole lot of ewwwww in this book. Like the fact that Echo’s love interest is like 150 years old. Okay that shit is straight nasty. Perverted.

Besides vampire lore I never understood the whole I’m in love with a 16 year old romance with a creature that is 150 + years. That shit is not cute. It’s gross. Even with vampire lore—the ones that I’ve read in books have been adult. You know legal age.

When it happens in YA I just cringe and feel gross the fuck out.

Like in all that time you couldn’t find a woman that’s on your level. Instead you need to be with a kid.

Sips tea and moves on.

I say all that to say that this book is pure crap. How many times must I read the same shit over and over? I guess the publishing companies must think we’re stupid. Maybe we are because we always seem to fall into the trap and buy these books.

I personally, would not recommend this book. Especially if you read Daughter of Smoke and Bones. Still people will be attracted to the beautiful cover and might want to read it but I suggest you borrow The Girl at Midnight from the library.


SYNOPSIS:

For fans of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.
Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.
Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.
Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.
But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.


As always thanks for stopping by. Leave a comment and tell me your thoughts

-Sanovia <3



5 thoughts on “DIDN'T I READ THIS BOOK BEFORE?–REVIEW: THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT BY MELISSA GREY”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *