Blogger Life · Blogging · Blogging Community · Cornish Reading Challenge · New to me Authors · The Bandwagon

Cornish Reading Challenge

cornish-reading-challenge-poster

So March is looking like a busy month for me. Not only am I participating in a read-a-long hosted by Momsmallvictories but I’m also participating in a few blog tours–including Lori M. Lee’s for her book Infinite. On top of that I have a few reviews that I have to write up and a couple of ARCs I have to read. Yeah busy busy busy bee that’s me. Still I decided to join up for the Cornish Reading Challenge.

Vikki Patis of The Bandwagon was kind enough to send me an email inviting to join up for this reading challenge. First let me say that I have no idea what Cornish is or where Cornwall is on the map but I do love the idea of getting introduced to new-to-me authors and books. Come on, I’m an avid reader so naturally I said yes.

Super excited to do this challenge although I am having a tough time finding books related to Cornwall or by Cornwall authors. And some of the books or authors that I do find that I’m interesting in reading I can not find at my local library. Thank goodness for gift cards.

Besides that little set backup I did find three books that I want to read during this challenge. Out of the three books I will do reviews. If the mood is right then I will do a review for each of the books. No promises.

Now that I have that out of the way let me tell which three books that I really excited to read for this challenge.

Ghostwritten by Isabel Wolff She listens to everyone else’s story, but can she find her own? Perfect for fans of Tenko, The Railway Man and The Narrow Road to the Deep North A childhood mistake. A lifetime of regrets. Jenni is a ‘ghost’: she writes the lives of other people. It’s a job that suits her well: still haunted by a childhood tragedy, she finds it easier to take refuge in the memories of others rather than dwell on her own. Jenni has an exciting new commission, and is delighted to start working on the memoirs of a Dutchwoman, Klara. As a child in the Second World War, Klara was interned in a camp on Java during the Japanese occupation – she has an extraordinary story of survival to tell. But as Jenni and Klara begin to get to know each other, Jenni begins to do much more than shed light on a neglected part of history. She is being forced to examine her own devastating memories, too. But with Klara’s help, perhaps this is finally the moment where she will be able to lay the ghosts of her own past to rest? Gripping, poignant and beautifully researched, Ghostwritten is a story of survival and love, of memory and hope.

Amber Scott is Starting OverAmber Scott loves her city life – a terrific job working on a glossy magazine, and a fiance, Ed, she’s known since Uni. Even if Ed doesn’t take her job seriously (as a solicitor, he doesn’t have much time for women’s magazines!), it is Amber’s dream job. So Ed’s news that he has taken a job in the West Country turns Amber’s world upside down. The new life in Cornwall does not get off to the best start. The huge house Ed was so keen on is, well, huge – what is Amber going to do with four acres? And do M&S make Aga-ready meals? And when a handsome, if surly, man leads the local hunt over her land, it’s more than Amber can stand. So how is it that, before long Amber is friends with the local eccentric Lady of the Manor, making love potions at her mother’s recommendation – and answering the door naked to strangers…?

Blue by Lisa GlassSurfing is sixteen-year-old Iris’s world, and when the ultra-talented Zeke walks into her life, it soon becomes her passion. Over one amazing summer, as she is drawn into his sphere, she experiences love, new friendships, but also loss, with an intensity she never dreamed of. But is Zeke all he seems? What hides beneath his glamorous and mysterious past? When Iris decides to try for her own surfing success, just as her ex-boyfriend comes back into her life, she will test her talent, and her feelings for Zeke, to the limit…

Well those are my reads for this challenge. What are yours? I mean you are joining this challenge right?

If you are having trouble finding books that are Cornish/Cornwall related here are some sites that helped me. Plus The Bandwagon has a list up as well that you can get ideas of what you want to read.

CORNISH/CORNWALL BOOK RELATED SITES

http://www.novelicious.com/2013/06/ten-booksbased-in-cornwall.html

https://cornishlit.wordpress.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/places/1518-cornwall-england

http://shinynewbooks.co.uk/bookbuzz02/reading-cornwall/

That’s all that I have for now. If you know any books that are by Cornwall authors or that is set in Cornwall, please feel free to leave your recommendations in the comment section. Thank you.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Cornish Reading Challenge

Tell me your thoughts. I would love to know!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s