4 stars, Beautiful Covers, Book Review, Books, Jasmine Warga, My Heart and Other Black Holes, Review, Suicide, Teen Depression, Teen Suicide, YA, YA Books, YA Contemporary

Does Love Conquer All? REVIEW: My Heart and Other Black Holes @Jasmine Warga

My Heart and Other Black HolesTitle: My Heart and Other Black Holes

Author: Jasmine Warga

Hardcover: 320 pages

Publisher: Balzer + Bray (February 10, 2015)

ISBN-13: 978-0062324672

Genre: Fiction/YA Contemporary

Rating: 4 stars

SYNOPSIS:

A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who’s haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.

REVIEW:

So My Heart and other Black holes is about Aysel and Frozenbot (Roman). Together they form a suicide partnership after meeting online on a website called Smooth Passage. At first Aysel is down for the whole killing herself but as she gets to spend time with Roman (who in my opinion is a jerk) and get to know it “better”, she starts to develop feelings and I can save him attitude. This is where I have my problem with the book.

You mean to tell me that if people with mental disorders, who battle depression on a daily basis find that one person to love that all there problems will magically disappear. Would make their life so fulfilling that the darkness will suddenly lift off their shoulders? Sorry but I’m not buying it. Plus, Roman is a complete and utter ass most of the time. Yes, I know he is battling is own demons and has his reasons for wanting to commit suicide but there is no reason to talk rudely or make snide remarks towards Aysel 90 percent of the time. I mean she’s your partner—have a little class. Contemplating ones death isn’t supposed to be pretty, fluffy and all cuddle hearts so I really didn’t understand the need for a love interest. I think it would have been better if Aysel and Roman formed a long lasting friendship and tried to help each other to beat the darkness back. But not the I’m-going-to-love-him-to-make-him-better bullcrap.

Also, the whole dragging of Aysel’s secret about why she wanted to commit suicide was really unnecessary. She could have told Roman her reason’s in the middle of the book but Jasmine felt the need to drag it damn near to the end of the book. Honestly, it wasn’t all that surprising or that big of a deal. That’s just my opinion.

Overall, I enjoyed  My Heart and Other Black Holes. Beside the “Love will conquer all” theme, the author did a wonderful job of portraying the different and many layers that comes with battling depression and contemplating suicide. I should know. Another thing that enjoy was the development of Aysel. I think it was as realistic as it could be without going too dark with the subject matter. Oxymoron, I  know but believe me Jasmine Warga could have gone a whole other route with this subject. I’m just happy that the YA community is taking a risk with writing about Mental Illness in teens. Something I believe that does not get enough attention until it’s too late. Glad authors are doing their job to raise awareness. With that being said I don’t need everybody jumping on the bandwagon just to make a quick buck. Please, do your research before to try to write a book on this important matter. It’s have to be realistic and believable in order to make an impact.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Jasmine Warga

Hi. I’m Jasmine. My first novel, My Heart and Other Black Holes, will be published in 2015 by Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins. I’m currently writing my second book which is tentatively scheduled to be published in 2016.

I like emotive music, animals of all sorts, and lemonade. And books.


As always, thanks for stopping by and reading what I have to say. Feel free to leave a comment or feedback. Also be on the lookout for a big announcement that I will be making soon.

Sanovia

Blogger

Avid Reader and Lover of Minions <3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *